Drunk Driving And Ohio Law

In 1982, the state of Ohio passed a law making "operating a motor vehicle impaired," or OMVI, the official term for driving under the influence. In 2003, the state's lawmakers changed the official term yet again, making "operating a vehicle impaired," or OVI, the legal term for what most people call a DUI. Regardless of the term you use, the consequences of a conviction are many, and they can have long-lasting effects on your life, making fighting a DUI charge a wise decision.

At Halleck Law Office, our attorney has practiced law in Ohio since 1973, meaning that he has witnessed the changes to OVI law for more than four decades. His long legal career also means he has the knowledge and experience to help you understand your OVI charge — and to help you fight it.

Three Good Reasons To Fight Your DUI Charge

If you face a drunk driving charge and you are unsure whether you should fight it, here are three good reasons why you should:

  • Money: For a first-time OVI conviction, you will have to pay a fee between $375 and $1,075, along with a fee of $475 for your driver's license reinstatement. If your conviction is for a second or subsequent drunk driving offense, your sentence includes a Driver Intervention Program; you are required to install an ignition interlock device; or if your charge is aggravated, you could pay considerably more. Additionally, an OVI conviction will lead to a major increase in your insurance premium.
  • Time: After a conviction for having a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or greater, a judge will decide whether you will be jailed for three days or be required to attend a Driver Intervention Program for three days. If your BAC was above .17 percent, the maximum amount of time you could spend in jail increases to six days, and a Driver Intervention Program becomes mandatory.
  • Driving privileges: A license suspension is mandatory for a first-time OUI/DUI conviction in Ohio, and the suspension will last a minimum of six months and a maximum of three years. For subsequent convictions, the period of suspension increases.

Obviously, the above reasons are not the only reasons to fight an OVI charge, whether a misdemeanor or a felony, but for most people, they are enough.

Get Started On Your Defense Today

Whether you are a resident of Wood County or a college student at Bowling Green State University, it is worth your time and effort to fight your DUI charge. By calling 419-419-5056 or emailing us, you can schedule an initial consultation with our experienced lawyer and get started on your OVI defense.